Page 1 Fasebook Group 4 Group 3 Group 8 Group 7 Image 2 Group 34 Group 47 tw vk YouTube

Beginning of the Space Era

After the end of the Second World War, the USSR was in need of the powerful rockets which could cover the distance of thousands of kilometers, ascending to space. Results achieved by rocket builders in 1930s were re-thought and the branch had risen to the new height. New powerful rocket engines appeared together with the technologies which allowed the rocket to transport great loads, both civil and military. Finally, in 1957 we stepped out of the atmosphere and the word Sputnik became understandable in all the languages of the world. We have sent pets to space, who have reached the orbit and furthermore have come back successfully. At this moment of time, we were just one step behind of the most important event.

Empty bottle of French champagne with a cork, 1959

In 1957, after the launch of the first artificial Earth satellite, the French winemaker Henri Maire made a bet with the Soviet consul that satellites will continue to fly, but no one will ever see the far side of the moon.

And when the photograph that was taken by «Luna-3» on October 4, 1959, appeared in all newspapers around the world, the winemaker acknowledged his defeat and sent a thousand bottles of champagne to the USSR Academy of Sciences. It was in December, just before the New Year. The bottles were handed out to participants of the «Luna-3» project. The champagne was consumed, the bottles were thrown away, and the story was forgotten until 1979, when after the information appeared in the press, Natalia Koroleva started to look for these bottles. It turned out that the former secretary of Sergei Korolev accidentally preserved one of those. This bottle is a true witness of the triumph of Soviet technology.

From the private collection of N.S. Korolevа

Liquid rocket engine ORM-1 (experimental rocket engine). Model, section. Scale 1:1. USSR, Moscow region, Khimki. 1955−1958

This is the first engine in the ORM series which had more than a hundred modifications in less than 10 years. It was developed at the Gas Dynamics Laboratory led by Valentin Glushko. Along with the engines developed by Friedrich Zander (OR-1 and OR-2), the ORM-1 model was the ancestor of the Soviet liquid rocket engines. It worked on a mix of gasoline and liquid oxygen and developed a thrust of up to 20 kgf. Its key parts were made out of steel and plated with copper. The engine used the static water cooling system, had a certain number of functional modifications of (for example, non-return valves) and gold plating for protection against corrosion. The ORM-65 engine, that was developed five years later and passed flight tests in rocket planes and ballistic missiles, was considered to be the most successful in the ORM series.

From the collection of the Polytechnic Museum

Liquid rocket engine ORM-52 (experimental rocket engine). Model, section. Scale 1:1. USSR, Moscow region, Khimki. 1955−1963

This liquid rocket engine was developed in 1933 at the Gas Dynamics Laboratory led by Valentin Glushko. It became one of the most powerful high-thrust engines in the early ORM series. It worked on a mixture of kerosene and nitric acid, and developed quite a significant thrust for its time — 300 kgf. Because of this, the ORM-52 engine was used in one of the first experimental liquid-propellant rockets — RLA-2. According to the project, the rocket had to rise vertically, reach an altitude of 4 kilometers and then release a parachute with meteorological instruments located on its head. On the wave of success of the ORM-52 engine, some more powerful liquid rocket engines were developed after a series of tests: from ORM-53 to ORM-70, which could produce up to 600 kgf of thrust.

From the collection of the Polytechnic Museum

Liquid rocket engine RD-119. Model, section. Scale 1: 1. USSR, Moscow region, Khimki. 1962

Since 1962, the RD-119 engine was used in the second stage of one of the «Kosmos» launch vehicles (63S1). They were built to bring the small unmanned spacecraft on the elliptical and circular Earth orbits. The single-chamber RD-119 ran on a mixture of liquid oxygen and unsymmetrical dimethylhydrazine. It developed a thrust of up to 11000 kgf, and a specific impulse of 3450 m/s, which was very high for this kind of fuel, though still less than in the oxygen-hydrogen engines. Also, in this engine, the titanium alloys were used for the first time as the material for its combustion chambers. This allowed the engineers to reduce the weight of the chamber, despite the significant increase in the diameter of the nozzle. Nevertheless, it created a number of difficulties at the production stage and lead to the modification of existing technologies of titanium production.

From the collection of the Polytechnic Museum

RD-108 liquid rocket engine for R-7 rocket and «Soyuz» launch vehicles. Full-size model, 1986−1988

Th RD-108 liquid rocket engine was developed at the experimental design bureau between 1954 and 1957. It is, in fact, a modification of the RD-107 engine with four additional combustion chambers. The engine runs on a mixture of kerosene and liquid oxygen and develops a thrust of up to 90000 kgf. Both RD-107 and RD-108 were designed for the intercontinental ballistic rocket R-7, which was the first successfully tested missile of this kind in the world. On the basis of R-7, a whole family of rockets was built. They played the key role in the early stages of space exploration and put into orbit the first artificial Earth satellite, the first animal, and the first human — Yuri Gagarin. Nowadays several missiles from the P-7 family, equipped with the modifications of RD-107 (first stage) and RD-108 (second stage) are still used in space programs. Since the steering engines were not designed by Glushko’ s design bureau, they are not installed on this model.

From the collection of «NPO Energomash»

SB-3 Solar Battery, 1958

This battery was one of the first used in the history of space exploration. In 1954, the engineers of Bell Laboratories created the first sustainable solar panel. Only 4 years later the USSR and the United States almost simultaneously (March 17 and May 15 respectively) launched artificial Earth satellites, which already had solar panels on board. The «Sputnik-3» was such satellite from the Soviet side. It was equipped with a small beacon, which had to check the capacity of the solar panels. This idea proved to be successful: even after all the chemical power sources got exhausted, the beacon continued to regularly send the signal. This fact experimentally confirmed the feasibility of using solar panels on the spacecraft. By the way, currently, solar panels are the only main source of power on the International Space Station.

From the collection of the Tsiolkovsky State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics, Kaluga

Page 1 Fasebook Group 4 Group 3 Group 8 Group 7 Image 2 Group 34 Group 47 tw vk YouTube

Начало космической эры

После окончания второй мировой войны СССР очень нуждался в мощных ракетах, которые могли бы покрывать тысячекилометровые расстояния, по пути поднимаясь в космос. Результаты ракетостроения 30-х годов были переосмыслены, а отрасль поднята на новую высоту. Появились новые мощные ракетные двигатели и технологии, позволявшие ракете нести большую полезную нагрузку — как военную, так и гражданскую. И вот в 1957 году мы вышли за пределы земной атмосферы, и слово «спутник» понимают на всех языках мира. Мы посылали в космос братьев наших меньших и они не только поднимались на орбиту, но и благополучно возвращались. Мы всего в шаге от главного свершения.

Пустая бутылка с пробкой из под французского шампанского, 1959 г.

В 1957 г. французский винодел Анри Мэр после запуска первого искусственного спутника Земли заключил пари с советским консулом о том, что спутники летать будут и дальше, но никто никогда не сможет увидеть обратную сторону Луны.

И когда фотография, сделанная «Луной-3» 4 октября 1959 года, появилась в газетах всего мира, винодел признал себя побежденным и прислал тысячу бутылок шампанского на адрес Российской академии наук — в декабре, прямо под Новый год. Его раздали участникам проекта «Луна-3». Шампанское было выпито, бутылки выброшены, история забыта. И только в 1979 г., после того как информация попала в СМИ, Наталья Сергеевна Королева начала разыскивать эти бутылки. Оказалось, что у бывшей секретарши С.П. Королева случайно осталась одна — свидетельница триумфа советских технологий.

Из частной коллекции Н.С. Королевой

Двигатель ракетный жидкостный ОРМ-1 (опытный ракетный мотор) в разрезе. Модель. Масштаб 1:1. СССР, Московская обл., г. Химки, 1955–1958 гг.

Первый двигатель в серии ОРМ, в которой менее чем за 10 лет в общей сложности вышло более 100 модификаций. Разработан в Газодинамической лаборатории В.П. Глушко. Наряду с двигателями Ф.А. Цандера (ОР-1 и ОР-2) ОРМ-1 был родоначальником советских жидкостных ракетных двигателей. Он работал на смеси бензина с жидким кислородом и развивал тягу до 20 кгс. Основные части двигателя выполнены из стали и плакированы медью. В двигателе применялась система статического водяного охлаждения, ряд функциональных модификаций (например, обратные клапаны), а также золочение с целью защиты от коррозии. В серии ОРМ наиболее успешным считался двигатель ОРМ-65, разработанный на 5 лет позже и прошедший летные испытания на ракетопланах и баллистических ракетах.

Из коллекции Политехнического музея

Двигатель ракетный жидкостный ОРМ-52 (опытный ракетный мотор) в разрезе. Модель. Масштаб 1:1. СССР, Московская обл., г. Химки, 1955–1963 гг.

Этот жидкостный двигатель был разработан в 1933 году в Газодинамической лаборатории В.П. Глушко и стал одним из наиболее тяговитых двигателей в ранней серии ОРМ. Он работал на смеси керосина и азотной кислоты и развивал значительную для того времени тягу — 300 кгс. Благодаря этому двигатель ОРМ-52 вошел в конструкцию одной из первых экспериментальных жидкостных ракет — РЛА-2. По проекту она должна была подниматься вертикально на высоту до 4 километров, а затем выпускать парашют с метеоприборами, расположенный в ее головной части. Вследствие успеха ОРМ-52 вскоре после испытаний в серии появились и более мощные жидкостные двигатели: ОРМ-53 — ОРМ-70, достигавшие тяги в 600 кгс.

Из коллекции Политехнического музея

Двигатель РД-119 ракетный жидкостный. Макет. Масштаб 1:1. СССР, Московская обл., г. Химки, 1962 г.

Двигатель РД-119 применялся во второй ступени одной из модификаций (63С1) ракет-носителей серии «Космос» с 1962 года. Они предназначались для вывода малых автоматических космических аппаратов на эллиптические и круговые околоземные орбиты. Однокамерный РД-119 работал на смеси жидкого кислорода и несимметричного диметилгидразина. Он развивал тягу до 11 000 кгс и очень высокий для такого топлива удельный импульс в 3450 м/c, уступавший только кислородно-водородным двигателям. Также в этом двигателе практически впервые использовались сплавы титана в качестве материала стенок камер сгорания. Это позволило снизить массу камеры, несмотря на существенное увеличение выходного диаметра сопла. Правда, это же вызвало ряд трудностей в производстве, что потребовало модернизации существующих технологий изготовления титановых конструкций.

Из коллекции Политехнического музея

Полноразмерный макет жидкостного ракетного двигателя РД-108 для ракеты Р-7 и космических ракет-носителей семейства «Союз», 1986–1988 гг.

РД-108 был разработан в 1954–1957 годах опытным конструкторским бюро. Фактически он является модификацией РД-107 с четырьмя добавленными рулевыми камерами. Двигатель работает на смеси керосина и жидкого кислорода и развивает тягу до 90 000 кгс. РД-107 и РД-108 создавались для межконтинентальной баллистической ракеты Р-7, которая стала первой успешно прошедшей испытания ракетой этого класса в мире. На основе Р-7 было создано целое семейство ракет-носителей, которые сыграли ключевую роль на ранних этапах освоения космоса. Именно они вывели на орбиту первый искусственный спутник Земли, первое животное и первого человека — Юрия Алексеевича Гагарина. До сих пор в эксплуатации остаются несколько ракет из семейства Р-7, оснащенных модификациями двигателей РД-107 (первая ступень) и РД-108 (вторая ступень). Рулевые двигатели заводом ОКБ В.П. Глушко не изготавливались, на макете не установлены.

Из собрания ОАО «НПО Энергомаш им. В.П. Глушко»

Солнечная батарея СБ-3, 1958 г.

Эта батарея была одной из первых в истории освоения космоса, примененных на практике. В 1954 году инженеры компании Bell Laboratories создали самую первую полноценную солнечную батарею. Спустя всего 4 года СССР и США практически одновременно (17 марта и 15 мая соответственно) запустили искусственные спутники Земли, в конструкцию которых уже входили солнечные батареи. В нашем случае это был «Спутник-3». Он был снабжен небольшим радиомаяком, целью которого в том числе была проверка работоспособности солнечных батарей. Она оказалось успешной: даже после того как истощились основные, химические источники питания, радиомаяк продолжал исправно посылать сигнал. Этот факт экспериментально подтвердил целесообразность использования солнечных батарей в космических аппаратах. Кстати, в настоящий момент на Международной космической станции солнечные батареи являются основным и единственным источником питания.

Из коллекции Государственного музея истории космонавтики им. Циолковского, Калуга